Chronic Pain

Impending winter weather, chronic pain, and concussions

Here in western PA, we are expecting anywhere from 2-200 inches of snow tomorrow. As my family and I restructure our weekend plans, I began thinking about what life would be like if I were living solo and had to deal with a winter storm of any magnitude.

While we may joke about people running out to get milk, toilet paper, and bread- it dawned on me how difficult it would be for me to leave my house for days after a significant storm if I didn’t have my husband What if there weren’t good samaritans and neighbors to help dig me out? How long would I be stuck at home? Thankfully, in Pittsburgh, one can call upon a “Snow Angel” in times of emergency, but how many more people could be served if we all took the time to care for our neighbors?

Another concern when winter weather strikes is my fear of falling. Each step on untreated winter ground can feel like walking on a tight rope. If I were to fall and hit my already concussed head, again, how dramatic would the results be? Even if I fell on my tush, but experienced the whiplash-type trajectory of my head shaking when I hit ground- what kind of damage would that do to my brain? I still experience migraines when my head is jarred too roughly- I can’t even imagine if I were to strike it on the ground.

And finally, as your grandpa used to tell you when his trick knee would indicate a weather change, those with chronic pain often FEEL the changes in the weather more dramatically than most. From aches and pains, to increased fatigue and pressure in the head, severe changes in weather can worsen my underlying, chronic pain issues. These changes can often lead me to spend the day in bed with my heating pad, blinds closed to stave off the glare of sunlight hitting the snow.

While I still have a difficult time accepting the fact that sledding, ice skating or even skiing are forever out of the question for me, I still count myself very lucky to have a wonderful husband and children who love me and go out of their way to help ensure my safety when the weather changes.

May this be a reminder to those blessed with healthy bodies- we are our neighbor’s keepers. Don’t forget to check and your neighbor’s supply of milk, bread, and TP. Here in Pittsburgh, if you do run out, we’ll keep a parking chair out for you.

http://boringpittsburgh.com/weather/parking-chair-rules-of-etiquette/attachment/parking-chair-rules/

1 thought on “Impending winter weather, chronic pain, and concussions”

  1. You’re so right, everything in life is affected by chronic pain, but when winter comes and it’s ten times worse. I become a hermit, sitting inside a warm house waiting for Spring.
    It must be awful, living with Post Concussion Syndrome and the related pain. I don’t have PCS, but I certainly understand living with pain. Take care.

    Like

Comments are closed.